Chocolate peanut butter ganache

Often I’ve heard the question, “What is ganache?” I’m not sure of the technical answer to that but my answer is usually that it’s melted chocolate with heavy cream. Sometimes I add a little butter for a glazed look but that’s the long and short of it. It is very versatile. When it’s chilled, it’s able to be piped onto a cake or cupcake as well as used for truffles.  When it’s more of room temperature or heated it can act as a glaze. I generally use it as a filling for cakes as well as for using the drip technique on top of cakes. I’ve been asked to do a tutorial of sorts but I’m not a huge tech girl so I’ll give you what I’ve got!

Step 1:

20160715_164400.jpg

Pour about 2/3 cup of heavy cream into a microwave safe bowl. Heat in microwave until hot but not boiling. Time varies with wattage but mine takes a little under 2 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 2: Measure out about one cup of chocolate chips. I use semi sweet but you can use bitter or unsweetened .

20160715_164607.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Step 3: Measure out about 3/4 cup Reese’s peanut butter chips. Have the chips out and ready for when the cream comes out.

20160715_164701.jpg
Step 4: Once your cream is done and hot, immediately add both cups of chips to the bowl and let sit for about 45 seconds. This allows the chips to melt and makes less stirring for you!

20160715_164728.jpg

20160715_164902.jpg

Step 5: Stir vigorously until you get a nice smooth glazed look, similar to the picture on the left. Sometimes mine has some small chunks in it but for what I’m using it for, it doesn’t bother me and it tastes amazing! Smell that peanut butter yet??? Yum!

 

wp-image-2037314809jpg.jpeg    Here’s the finished product being cut into.  I did have a video for you guys to show you how to do the drip technique but I’m having a difficult time putting it on here.  So how I do it is I take a chilled and frosted cake and spoon the ganache onto the top and use a spoon to maneuver the ganache across the top of the cake and over the sides where I want the drip effect.  You want your ganache to be slightly warmer than room temperature to do this technique. If it cools too quickly then it won’t glide smoothly over your sides, however if it’s too warm then you’ll have more like stripes down the side of your cake than actual drips. Have fun with it! Work with it! My kids love when I experiment with ganache because of the science of it. It can totally change it’s usage just by a few degree change. It can be a solid or gel-like or a liquid glaze. Frankly, I’ve used it in all three ways! I hope this was helpful for those of you who have asked me for this info even though I didn’t get the video on here.  If you decide to go have some fun with ganache, leave me a comment! I’m also now on Facebook so come check me out there! Thanks!

 

 

Leave a Reply

